Office of Religious Affairs

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor's Interfaith Council

The Interfaith Council advises the Mayor of the District of Columbia, the Mayor's Director for Religious Affairs, and the Mayor's Cabinet, on various matters that affect the spiritual, faith and religious well-being of all the residents of the District of Columbia as well as advising the Mayor in creating and maintaining a spiritual perspective when setting goals and casting the vision for the District.

The Interfaith Council serves as a liaison between the Mayor and the faith community by making recommendations on developing, expanding, or fostering public-private partnerships and linkages between the District and faith-related organizations using grant, District, federal, foundation, or private funding sources.  The Interfaith Council advise on the methods of identifying and meeting social service needs and serve as a forum for public comments and views on existing and planned proposals for faith community policies, programs, resources and activities.

Promoting spirituality, accountability and integrity among the faith and governmental leadership in the District is an important aspect of the Interfaith Council's functions, along with exchanging information and resources to promote  the common good among  the faith community and  promoting respect, cooperation and tolerance between and among the religious communities and the general public in the District.

The Interfaith Council is an advocate on behalf of people who are poor and disenfranchised and offer public prayers of intercession for justice, healing and unity in the community.

Members of the Interfaith Council are appointed by the Mayor and comprise of no more than 30 voting members. The current term started on 28 July 2011 and will end on 29 July 2013:

  • David Bava
  • Johari Abdul-Malik
  • Iman Talib Muttaqee Shareef
  • Rabbi Batya Steinlauf
  • Rabbi Bruce Lustig
  • Shmuel Herzfeld
  • Christine Wiley
  • James Coleman
  • Wallace Smith
  • Thomas Bowen
  • E. Gail Anderson Holness
  • Graylan Scott Hagler
  • Jas Sajjan
  • Dwayne Johnson
  • Maria Barrera
  • Keith Byrd, Sr.
  • Fr. Raymond Kemp
  • Susan Lee Taylor
  • Ahmed Sy
  • Evelio Menjivar
  • Shirley Holloway
  • Darrell Smith-Bey
  • Gerry Serotta
  • Sidney Fowler
  • Ademyiwa Bamiduro
  • Michael D. Scott
  • Donald Isaac

Visit the Office of Boards and Commissions website for more information about the roles and responsibilities of DC Commission members.